Goat Track G20 Ride

IMG_0065Scott getting a bit to excited by late ride coke

The “Goat Track” re-opened just recently after being washed out for years. Anyway – I’d never done it before and as we have a public holiday here in Brisbane for the G20 I thought it might be worth a go.

So Dave and Scott and Jesse and me met at Lifecycle at 5:30. Then we piked up Benny (at Ashgrove) and Zach (at Alderley).

Was pretty damn hot already and I was soaked in sweat most of the time. I was actually pretty surprised I didn’t get any serious cramps seeing as how much fluid I was losing.

The climb was really nice and generally fine for a road bike with slicks as long as you concentrated and stuck to the ruts and didm’t spend too much time in the sandy bit between. Views were excellent and I stopped a few times to take pics.

We saw a puppy which I dutifully documented for Dee. The only real issue today was a total goob was in such a hurry to overtake me on the decsent that he came pretty close. Then at the bottom Dave was complaining about a similar incident and we worked out it was the same douchcanoe. Dave and Jesse decided to nail it and overtook him and smashed down. Revenge!

IMG_0017 IMG_0022 IMG_0023 IMG_0036 IMG_0038 IMG_0040 IMG_0043 IMG_0044 IMG_0049 IMG_0054 IMG_0056 IMG_0059 IMG_0063 IMG_0066 IMG_0069Jesse got a random flat at the BP and make Dave and Zach hold his bike steady as he pumped. Perfectly reasonable explanation for the photo above.

One thought on “Goat Track G20 Ride

  1. Cool ride. I was about to do that same ride a few weeks back on my cx bikes with slicks on (which got postponed to a week coming up) – good to see that people can ride the track without having big fat tyres on as I was a bit worried. I could put the chunkier tyres on but I hate riding out on the road on those tyres.

Leave a Reply

